Lighting console control via MIDI

the DMX operator responds to Notes. Which when looking at the UDK’s of the 01v it seems to do.

I’m just not sure if I have the other Midi functions set up right, as I’ve never used midi before.

I have a UDK set up to send a midi note 0 so it should turn on bank 1 scene 1’s preset, but it doesn’t seem to be doing anything… I’m guessing its a setting on the 01v I haven’t set up correctly.

Few things to check - make sure the MIDI channel of the 2 devices is the same. Go to the MIDI setup page on the 01V96 and select MIDI ch 1 for all the TX options. I don’t know which of those settings controls where the UDK note on/note off messages come from, so set them all until you figure that out.

Make sure the lighting console is set to receive MIDI on ch 1 or OMNI.

Using a program like MIDI-OX is invaluable to figuring out MIDI information, but you’ll need to understand more about MIDI messages first to know what it is you’re looking at and for.
I learned about MIDI many many years ago, so I don’t quite know where to point you, but here might be a good start: OpenStax

Questions? Ask away and I’ll do what I can to help.

Have you been able to get anywhere with this?

If not, then let me know how you have your console MIDI setup done.
Do you have a link to the manual for the Elation?

hi, I’m just browsing possibilities of using the LS9’s Midi environment to control the go-button on a light console. We’ll see…

Interesting. What do you want to have control the “go”, scene change or something else? What lighting console do you have?

I have used the 5D to do GO on an ETC and a HOG… IIRC, I set it up so scene changes on the 5D fired scene changes on the light board. If you wanted to have lighting changes without audio you just duplicated the scene…
This made me realize I wanted Yamaha to have scenes with ‘point’, eg. scene 13.5 etc… makes programming this a lot easier.

JP