Yamaha CL as DAW control surface?

Hello!
Our church is planning to purchase a CL5 console for use as a broadcast (live to tape) mixer while also multitrack recording via Dante for remix later as the situation requires.

We would like to be able to use the CL5 surface as a CS for a DAW as a cost and space saving idea. Yamaha has indicated that this will be possible via MIDI, but they said the amount of control available will be highly dependent on the DAW we decide to use, relating to the amount of MIDI control channels available.

We will probably use Reaper or Nuendo/Cubase, depending on integration or workflow.

I want to be able to use the faders for up to 64 tracks, and the EQ controls for control of EQ plugins, and a couple UDKs for transport and automation changes if possible. If the scribble strips were able to “see” the names of the appropriate tracks, that would be excellent.

I’ve worked with the 5d, M7, LS9, and 01v96 but I have no experience with trying to use MIDI. So I am wondering if I will be able to accomplish my goal or if I should just recommend a dedicated CS. I really don’t even know what is possible with the above arrangement.

Thanks in advance for any help! I’m using an iPhone to type this, please excuse any mistakes!
–Michael

Hi Michael and welcome!

The Yamaha DM2000 had “Remote Layers” that integrated DAW control into the surface. Much of the functionality that you are looking for was possible with that console.
The PM5D does not have any Remote Layers, but can do rudimentary DAW control but only via the faders and channel on/off buttons.
I don’t see anything in the CL5 manual that discusses it having any Remote Layers or being able to directly control and interface with DAWs.